It was in 1889, when the Ypsilanti water mains were installed that Mrs. Starkweather gave a very unique fountain
to the City of Ypsilanti. It was made of bronze and sat on a granite foundation with a height of 12 ¼ feet above the curb.
On the North and South sides of the fountain were drinking bowls for horses, on the East and West faces were bowls for
people, and at the bottom on the four corners were bowls for dogs.|
At the top of the fountain was the figure of Hebe, the Goddess of Youth and Cup Bearer to the Gods. The fountain was the work of the J.L. Mott Iron Works of New York. The original cost of the fountain was $750.
In April of 1932 the fountain was dismantled because of some problems and by that time there were more modern means available for getting a drink. The City of Ypsilanti had planned to place the statue in the park behind the Ladies Library. However, it was placed in storage for several years and then in 1935 the top part of the fountain, the figure of Hebe, was mo ved to Tourist Park, now Water Works Park, on Catherine Street. There she graced the entrance to the park. After that the fountain disappeared completely.
Over the years there has been a great deal of speculation and rumor about what eventually happened to the fountain. At one time suspicion fell on the city park commissioner, who it was rumored had sold the fountain and other City owned items for personal gain. This accusation was never proven. Another rumor that circulated was that City workers dumped the fountain into the Huron River. The most likely scenario is that the fountain was scrapped during World War II as a part of the war effort.